Leclerc pole again, can he convert this time? F1 Azerbaijan GP 2022 Qualifying Review & Results

Qualifying in Baku gave us another great battle for pole. Ferrari and Red Bull pushing each other once again, while Mercedes continue their struggles this season. If the qualifying is anything to go by, there could be plenty of twists in the race for the championship.

At the start of Q1 the whole grid came out. Lando Norris, Fernando Alonso and Esteban Ocon were first to set times with Ocon ahead of Alonso and Norris. Kevin Magnussen, Daniel Ricciardo, Yuki Tsunoda and Sebastian Vettel all took top five early beating the first runners.

The Red Bulls came out and took first and second, with Charles Leclerc beating out team-mate Carlos Sainz for third. George Russell slotted into fourth while Lewis Hamilton struggles continued as he went eighth.

Pierre Gasly went another time and went seventh, Norris, Alonso and Ocon went again, and Norris got seventh just behind Alonso and then Ocon beat both. Ricciardo went twelfth.

Ferrari improved with Sainz going second while Leclerc went quickest. Then Max Verstappen went fastest just after Sergio Perez did the same. The chopping and changing of the top four proving to be unpredictable.

Two and a half minutes to go and Lance Stroll crashed his Aston Martin on the exit of turn 2 into the wall, this caused a red flag. Just before this Hamilton attempted a lap again and got eighth.

After the session resumed, everyone but the Ferraris, Red Bulls, Vettel and Ocon went out to do a final run. Hamilton stayed down to ninth, Russell got sixth, then Tsunoda beat him to sixth, Gasly fifth and then Bottas just getting himself through to Q2.

The drivers eliminated were, Mick Schumacher, Lance Stroll, Nicholas Latifi, Alex Albon and Kevin Magnussen.

Q2 and the Red Bulls come out and set the pace early with Perez first then Verstappen beating him. Gasly behind Perez, Ocon fourth before being beaten by Vettel, Tsunoda fifth, Norris seventh, Hamilton eighth, his team-mate Russell fourth. All while Sainz goes quickest, with Leclerc being slightly down on Sainz’s time.

Another run for Perez who then tops the time sheets with Leclerc again going second. Bottas with what was poor qualifying only good enough for fourteenth before Zhou Guanyu beat his team-mate for the first time this season.

Norris went tenth, while Ricciardo only thirteenth. Hamilton got ahead of Russell going sixth, Vettel then going seventh just behind. With this going on Norris was now in eleventh. But Norris made a mistake on his lap costing him meaning he was only P11. Ocon went twelfth before Ricciardo improved and slotted in behind Norris.

The drivers eliminated in Q2 were Valtteri Bottas, Zhou Guanyu, Esteban Ocon, Daniel Ricciardo and Lando Norris.

With the battle for pole now underway in Q3 calling the outcome was a tricky task. Gasly started out by setting the pace, Alonso behind him just under a second slower. Hamilton then splits them before Russell beats out Hamilton. Tsunoda behind all of them.

With the frontrunners completing their laps it saw Sainz go top with Leclerc just behind, Perez third and then Verstappen fourth, Vettel completed his lap after putting himself in seventh.

Final runs take place and Alonso only good enough for eighth on this occasion, Leclerc then goes fastest while Sainz did not improve. Tsunoda went seventh while Hamilton just beat him out, Russell again beat Hamilton taking fifth. Verstappen, on a good lap was enough to get him onto the front row, only long enough until Perez finished his lap snatching second away from his team-mate and grabbing a front row start.

After an eventful qualifying, it does look like any of the top four have the potential to win this race, and with Red Bull seemingly having the better race pace, could Perez pull off another win? Will Verstappen win this time? Or will Ferrari manage to take a win for the first time since the Australian GP?

F1 Azerbaijan GP 2022 Qualifying Results

1 – Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) 2 – Sergio Perez (Ferrari) 3 – Max Verstappen (Red Bull) 4 – Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) 5 – George Russell (Mercedes) 6 – Pierre Gasly (Alpha Tauri) 7 – Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) 8 – Yuki Tsunoda (Alpha Tauri) 9 – Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin) 10 – Fernando Alonso (Alpine) 11 – Lando Norris (McLaren) 12 – Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren) 13 – Esteban Ocon (Alpine) 14 – Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo) 15 – Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo) 16 – Kevin Magnussen (Haas) 17 – Alex Albon (Williams) 18 – Nicholas Latifi (Williams) 19 – Lance Stroll (Aston Martin) 20 – Mick Schumacher (Haas)


1 view0 comments